03. 21st Oct. 2015 – South Africa – Terry Rankin

South Africa became a country in its own right on 31st May 1910, made up from the four states; Cape of Good Hope, Natal, Orange Free State (later the Orange River Colony) and Transvaal.  Known as The Union of South Africa, this was a Dominion of the British Commonwealth.  On 31st May 1961 the country became The Republic of South Africa (RSA for short).
Terry started by telling us he stayed in South Africa for 19 years and he thought collecting stamps would let his children and eventually grandchildren know where they had come from. He brought along a pot plant to show us it was the Flower of South Africa, The King Protea, (Protea cynaroides), is a flowering plant. Its flower head (what the layman will call the ‘flower’) is the largest in the genus Protea: the species is also known as Giant Protea, Honeypot or King Sugar Bush. It is widely distributed in the south-western and southern parts of South Africa of the fynbos region. The artichoke-like appearance of the flower-heads of the king protea lead to the specific name ‘cynaroides’, which means ‘like cynara’ (the artichoke). The name does not do justice to the beautiful flower-heads of this protea, which is the largest in the genus. A number of varieties in colour and leaf shapes are found, but the most beautiful is the pink coloured flower. His display was written by hand and was a very colourful display, he explained about some of the stamps, but did admit the sheets were very self explanatory. I have shown some of his display here.
Many thanks Terry great talk and display.